I’m the type of person who makes her own buttermilk. As in…1 cup of milk with 1 tablespoon or so of vinegar. Insta-curdle.

I just have a hard time USING a whole quart of buttermilk before it goes bad.

But something came over me when I was in the grocery store last week. I reached for the skim milk and was taken aback by a piece of paper advertising 99 cents for a quart of buttermilk. Yeah. I bought it. I couldn’t pass it up (and it was a good brand!).

So I did manage to make some Chocolate-Chocolate Chunk muffins that had haunted me from Brown-Eyed Baker. And had some still left over (of course…see! This is the problem…).

But then I saw this on Pinterest….

buttermilk roasted chicken

Buttermilk Roast Chicken from SmittenKitchen.

Something came over me and I decided I just had to make them. So I did (with a few adaptations of course. Like the fact that I halved the recipe because we only had two chicken breasts to use…):

Ingredients: 

1 cup buttermilk
1/2 tablespoon or so of minced garlic
1/2 tablespoon kosher salt
1/2 tablespoon granulated sugar
3/4 teaspoon paprika, plus extra for sprinkling (I used a smoked one)
Lots of freshly ground black pepper
1.5-2  pounds chicken parts (I used boneless skinless chicken breasts)
Drizzle of olive oil
Flaked or coarse sea salt, to finish

Directions:

Whisk buttermilk with garlic, table salt, sugar, paprika and lots of freshly ground black pepper in a bowl. Place chicken parts in your favorite marinading container (I use a tupperware thingy, but a big ziplock bag will work!) and pour buttermilk brine over them, then swish it around so that all parts are covered. <–I like to dance at this part as I shake. “Shake, shake, shake! Shake, shake, shake! Shake your bootay!”

Refrigerate for at least 2 but preferably 24 and up to 48 hours. I managed 24 hours!

Take them out of fridge and look at them. Poke a few times to make sure chicken is dead. Sprinke more generously with paprika than I did in the blurry photo below.

Hmm. I was trying out my new Christmas flash.

I apparently shake the camera with that heavy flash on top. But the color IS better. Anyway. Back to the recipe….

When ready to roast, preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking dish with foil (not absolutely necessary, but cleaned up easily). Remove chicken from buttermilk brine and arrange in dish. Drizzle lightly with olive oil, then sprinkle with additional paprika and sea salt to taste. Roast for 30 minutes (for legs; approximately 35 to 40 for breasts), until brown and a bit scorched in spots. Serve immediately.

SUPER RIDICULOUSLY JUICY CHICKEN.

Me thinks you should make this pronto.

;)