I was trying to get a DIY project done so I could post it here for you. I got out all of my picture frames, placed them on the floor, and then left them there for days. I can’t seem to bring myself to create a lot of noise late at night and hammer nails into the walls (we have neighbors…), and I haven’t sat down with enough time to actually lay out how I want them to look. It doesn’t help that the photos in those frames? Aren’t ones I want to display. *hrmph*

So instead of the DIY Photo arrangement I was planning, how about a homemade spinach pesto recipe?
I posted this photo not long ago:

And I *tried* to make it.

Turns out the recipe requires coconut milk, and regular milk just didn’t do. So I had to compensate a bit.
The original recipe is just through the picture. But here’s what I did below:

Ingredients: (all of these measurements are approximations!)
1 cup (ish) reduced fat milk
5 tbsp. melted butter
1 tbsp. olive oil
1 tbsp. tomato paste
2 tsp. lemon zest
1 Tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp. paprika
1 tsp. chili flakes
1/4 tsp fine sea salt
2 tsp minced garlic
Big ol’ handful of spinach
Pinch of ground nutmeg
Pinch of ground black pepper
Pasta of your choice

Directions: 

Shove everything but the milk in a food processor. Slowly add milk. Add more spinach if mixture is too runny (a result of adding too much milk. It’s all about balance here!).

Toss with pasta. Sprinkle cheese on top.

Here’s what I came up with:

I thought the mixture was tasty, but with just the original recipe ingredients (sans coconut milk), I thought it tastes too lemony. Maybe the coconut milk was a must-have ingredient. I would try it again with it for kicks. This was a nice change from the sauces we normally eat!

