I have been swamped this week, and am finally able to switch my brain back to blogging. I apologize for my absence!

This is one thing that I had zero clue about and had to open cookbooks and digital repositories to wrap my brain around: Popovers vs. Yorkshire Pudding.

I was first introduced to popovers by my (now) mentor and (then) 7th grade English teacher. I went to her house for brunch one morning and she served these delightfully crisp pastries that she called popovers.

Popovers are pastries that puff up when you cook them, creating a thin, empty shell. The insides are completely hollow! Yum! Perfect for stuffing with extras ;)

They are made in a popover pan (I went out and bought one because I saw them on deep discount at Target one day), but they can easily be made in oven-safe mugs, ramekins, or muffin tins.

The batter mixture, when thoroughly combined, is similar in appearance to that of crepes, but has a lot of baking powder/soda to make these babies rise.

Typically these pastries are eaten with butter, jam, syrup, fruits, or other sweets as a breakfast treat. But the batter is pretty versatile and they can be used with anything that needs a little extra carb action.

Yorkshire Pudding is a savory dish that uses popovers, and covers them in gravy. Sounds good, no? ;) When combined with a roast, some green veggies, and the gravy, you’ve got yourself a hefty meal fit for chilly weather.

All the recipes I’ve seen for Yorkshire Pudding have the popovers shorter than normal. Typically the ones in this recipe are 4-5″ tall. (The ones I tend to create are 6-7″ tall). They’re often pierced when they start to rise so that they fall in on themselves in a middle and make a little crater. Better to hold the gravy juices!

Ever made a Popover?

If not, they are ridiculously easy, and within minutes they have a dramatic ‘pop’ in the oven. It’s fun to watch ;)

Until I can get the recipe my dear friend gave me up on this blog, I suggest you check out this site for the recipe!

King Arthur Flour Popovers

