Tags

Two Saturdays ago, DH and I went to Vegas for four days to celebrate us. I hated calling it a “honeymoon” because it seemed so cliche that we’d go to Vegas. Where everyone goes. I had been calling it our “mini-moon” because I wanted the bigger, grander and more elegant honeymoon in Greece next year. But a number of things have made me change my mind. Not only is Greece super expensive, and the government unstable, and very far away, but our time in Vegas couldn’t have been any better. The weather was perfect. The length of our stay was perfect. All the touristy things we did were perfect. I spent the most amazing four days with the love of my life and I’m happy to say it was a bonafide honeymoon πŸ˜‰ (I’m sure he’ll be happy to save some $$ by not going to Greece!)

(The ceiling directly outside in the pick-up/drop-off area of the hotel–ain’t it so fancy?)

I didn’t bring a camera to Vegas–because I forgot to find the charger for my point-and-shoot. And I didn’t miss not having one. This was our honeymoon. And as much as I’d like to share the majority of it with you, this was a chance for me to get to know my husband. To myself. It was unbelievably relaxing to be mostly disconnected from technology (Damn smartphone spoiled the “totally disconnected” part!). So you’ll just have to be content with a few pictures here that I managed to capture from the phone.

I wanted to keep a piece of it (more than just memories) because who wants to forget their first experiences as Man and Wife? So I managed to bring a piece of our honeymoon to our bedroom at home *ahem not like that!* If you’ve ever stayed at The Venetian, you know that the rooms are plush suites and the beds are huge! We had a king size all to ourselves!

I got the best three nights’ sleep in The Venetian beds. Each time I slipped in to my side, I fell instantly asleep. I wasn’t waken up by cats. I didn’t have to scrounge for covers at 3 a.m. I didn’t have to re-fluff my pillow. It was phenomenal. So the moment we got back home, we opened some wedding giftcards and splurged on NEW bedding. I was trying to replicate The Venetian’s stuff (My nosey self did try to look at the tags, but I couldn’t find any brand names!). And since I’ve always wanted white bedding, but have avoided it in the past, I decided now was as good a time as ever to finally make the plunge and treat us to honeymoon-type luxury.

I believe that every bedroom should have two sets of really nice sheets. Why two? Because when one is in the wash, you can have another already on your bed!

We went to Kohl’s (one of our registry places!) and purchased the Luxury Collection 600-thread count cotton sateen sheet set in Crisp White.

I should say that I love buying bedding, but I put on the brakes when I think about ordering bedding online. I. Just. Can’t. Do. It. I need to feel the fabric. I need to see it. I need to hold it. I need to touch it. And these sheets? Just made my day!

We also went to Target (another of our registry places!) and bought the Fieldcrest Luxury 450-thread count Damask Stripe Sheets in White as our back-up sheets (can’t find them on the Target website sadly!). They did have a 600-thread count option, but after feeling both of them, I couldn’t tell much of a difference (aside from the price!). So I went with the cheaper and deemed them our “spare” set!


We also bought the matching duvet-coverΒ to the damask stripe set (also in white) as our “backup” cover!

The fabulous REAL cover was from Marikmekko by Crate and Barrel. It was the last one available in the store (our last registry place!) and I was giddy beyond belief to have it in my hands!

Last, but not least, I wanted to replicate the pillows. The ones at the Venetian were really $60/ea. pillows. And that was a bit much for my budget. While we were at Target, in the duvet aisle (they only sell two different kinds of duvets btw! I was disappointed!), I found the Fieldcrest Luxury Collection Down Alternative, Down, and Down with Feathers pillows. DH and I like to have two pillow options each, so after feeling and weighing (literally) our options, we selected two Down Alternative (for thickness and support) and two Down with Feathers (for softness and plush comfort). ❀

Best money ever spent. I swear πŸ™‚

I slid into bed last night with all our new bedding on… and slept amazing. It’s a wonder what trading in our old 200-thread count sheets and 3-year-old smashed $5 pillows and swapping them with these beauties can do.

Thank you to all our friends and family who gifted so generously so I could replicate our honeymoon in the bedroom! I’m in love!

(Here is DH proclaiming his love for our bedding (and me) to Oprah. See, it really happened!)

