Remember when I made the noodle dish for dinner? And the ingredients included bacon? I didn’t cook all of it that night (a whole pound might have overwhelmed the dish!), so one night that week I made breakfast for dinner. And nothing goes better with bacon than pancakes (well, maybe hash browns, but that’s for another day!).

These pancakes are absolutely delicious and fantastic and the perfect puffiness for optimal stackability. Really. Spell-check may not think that is a word, but ooooh buddy. It sure is in my book!

I usually make a pancake recipe from Betty Crocker, but I decided to get out my Joy of Cooking cookbook from Irma Rombauer, and leafed to the basic pancake recipe. So glad I did.

I sifted together:

  •  1-1/2c all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp sugar
  • 1-3/4 tsp double-acting baking powder
Important to sift, because the ingredients get mixed together AND the batter is free (mostly) from lumps and bumps 🙂

In a separate bowl, I:

  • Beat 1-2 eggs (I used 1, but 2 gives you a more pastry-like rich batter). You have the option to first separate the eggs, by adding the beaten yolks to a bowl, and beating the whites until stiff in a separate bowl then folding them in.
  • 1 to 1-1/4 c. milk
  • 3 tbsp melted, partially cooled butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Add the wet ingredients to the dry.

The batter will be dry. And lots of small bubbles will form.

Then spoon onto a hot griddle in 1/4 c. increments. Wait until lots of bubbles form on the batter-side facing you. Then flip. When they look golden brown, you are finished!

They were delish! 🙂

