O.M.G.

These are currently sitting on my counter, waiting to be brought in to work. For once I’m writing this the day before the actual post… so you know this means that the recipe warrants making at least once.

I found this recipe when a coworker brought in a cookbook to show me. It was a battered copy of one of her mother’s cookbooks called 101 Great Chocolate Recipes. I flipped through it, mainly looking at the pictures, and then stumbled across a recipe. Behold! I’d make this on Thursday! October 13! For my 1-year anniversary!

But then I conveniently left the cookbook at work in a mad rush to give the City of Evanston all of my money (I bought a city sticker; had to rush due to city office hours). A quick Google turned up a lot of recipes, but only an image search provided a similar picture.

The Hershey’s Rocky Road Brownies are similar. So I made them (I’ll have to compare the OTHER brownies with this one next time).

And since I was in a hurry, and doing four loads of laundry, and putting my bedroom back together, and saving the world from evil space invaders, I didn’t have a chance to take any in-process pictures. But I’ll try to keep you motivated as I write down the recipe, ok?

First, preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a microwave-safe bowl, melt 1 stick of butter in the microwave (Dur).

Let it cool for a few minutes, and then mix in 1 cup of sugar, 2 eggs and a few dashes of vanilla. When completely mixed, incorporate 1/2 cup flour, 1/3 cup Hershey’s cocoa powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp baking powder. Mix well (it might seem soup-y ish at first. Keep mixing! It gets slightly thicker and will make for a super easy pour).

Pour the mixture into a greased 9×9″ baking dish and bake for 22 minutes.

In separate bowl (or clean out the one you just used), mix 1 cup nuts (I used peanuts!), 1 cup chocolate chips, and 1-1/4 cup mini marshmallows (I’m absolutely certain that a few peanut butter baking chips would be DIVINE added in here as well). When 22 minutes have elapsed, sprinkle ALL of this chocolate-nut-mallow mixture on top. Bake for 5 more minutes. Then turn off the oven and keep it inside for a few extra.

And when you get something that looks like this, you are DONE. I’ll cut it tomorrow and add something about how it tasted. I have a feeling it’ll be just fine 😉

