Even though it’s such a mainstream treat, not everyone knows how to make rice krispie treats! So I figured I’d post their recipe to share, since I made four big containers of them last week.

*Can I mention that I DID buy one box of name-brand rice krispies, and they didn’t have the original recipe on them???? They had some spiced gingerbread recipe that made me shake my head. It’s probably quite tasty, but I wanted plain! So I had to google it 😦

Rice Krispie Treats

  • 3 tablespoons butter or margarine
  • 1 package (10 oz., about 40)   regular marshmallows
  • – OR –
  • 4 cups   miniature marshmallows
  • 6 cups   Rice Krispies® (or another cereal–works well with any!)
In a large stove pot, melt butter. Throw in marshmallows and stir until melted. Take pot off heat and stir in cereal.
While still warm, press into lined 9×13 or 8×8 baking dish (depending on how thick you want your treats!).
Wait until cool (about 30 minutes) and enjoy. Best eaten immediately  (and don’t forget to nibble the bits off the spoon when you are finished!). 
I didn’t have the manpower to work a camera and make these at the same time. But I did take photos after to share with you 😉 I should also mention that I don’t typically buy colored marshmallows. Nor do I go out in search of ones with Disney shapes and themes. These just happened to be on sale for 54 cents. And I couldn’t say no! (So I bought 4 bags…and then forced DH to help me sort the colors so they wouldn’t turn brown when melted ;p).
