Stromboli. noun. “A type of turnover filled with various cheeses, typically mozzarella, Italian meats such as salami, capicola and bresaola orvegetables. The dough is Italian bread dough. A stromboli is made with a square shaped pizza dough that can be topped with any pizza toppings and is then rolled into a log and baked.”

So in other words, it’s like a calzone. But not. Or a stuffed loaf of French bread but not.

When I make my stromboli’s, I use my go-to dough: Emeril’s Basic Pizza Dough – By Hand Method. It’s SO simple and can be used for anything. Pizza. Calzones. French bread. Bread sticks. Foccacia.

I make this dough and let it rise in my fridge overnight. Then I drag it out, bring it to room temperature and roll it out.

This time I made two smaller stromboli. One with leftover ground turkey, tomato sauce, tomato slices, shredded colby jack cheese, salt, pepper and garlic. Then one with ham slices, bleu cheese dressing, sliced muenster cheese, orange bell pepper slices, zesty italian seasoning, and salt.

Baked at 350 degrees for a little over an hour (you can move it up to 400, just keep an eye on it). You’ll know it’s done when it gets a nice golden brown all over.

