I know I have a 12-days of baking challenge coming up. But really, I need to just share these with you before. Because you might need a really tasty cookie recipe for this weekend.

Make these.

I originally found them on the King Arthur Flour blog. They looked easy, so I threw together a batch. Then DH ate one, and snuck another. And then ate a few more.

I hate to make three batches that night. And then he requested that I make enough for the following week for him to bring to work.

Can you tell he has a new favorite?

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup (8 tablespoons) butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • grated peel of 1 medium to large orange
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/2 cups all-Purpose Flour
  • 2 cups dried cranberries; or a mixture of dried cranberries and toasted chopped walnuts or pecans

Preheat the oven to 425°F. Lightly grease two baking sheets, or line them with parchment. OR if you’re me, and have dark pans and keep burning the damn cookies, you get out a mini muffin pan and grease that sucker instead (trust me, these cookies are meant to be LIGHT and chewy. Not brown in any way. The muffin pan keeps them from heating too fast!

In a large bowl, beat together the butter, sugar, orange peel, vanilla, baking powder, and salt. I cut my butter into chunks first so that it would beat better.

Beat in the egg. The mixture may look slightly curdled; that’s OK.

Add the flour and dried cranberries (or cranberries and nuts), stirring until well combined.

Drop the dough by heaping teaspoonfuls onto the baking sheets, leaving about 1 1/2″ between them. A level teaspoon cookie scoop works very well here; dough balls will be about 1 1/4″ in diameter. Using the flat bottom of a glass dipped in sugar, flatten the cookies slightly, to a scant 1/2″ thick. (But like I said, this never worked for me. It always over cooked the cookies. So I used a cookie scoop, filled a mini muffin pan, and didn’t squish them at all. Perfecto). Here’s my attempt at cookies though 😉

Bake the cookies for 6 to 7 minutes, until they’re barely set, and a light golden brown around the edges. Don’t over-bake; if you do, the cookies will be hard, not soft and chewy. Gently lift one of the cookies and look at the bottom; if you’ve used parchment, it shouldn’t be brown. If you’re baking on a dark cookie sheet without parchment, it should be light (not dark) brown. Here’s the baked muffins 🙂

Remove the cookies from the oven, and cool them right on the pan. If you need a pan to bake the remainder of the cookies, give the cookies about 5 minutes to set before transferring them to a rack to cool completely.

Yield: about 4 dozen cookies.

