Day 2 hath arrived! And with it, brings non-alcoholic eggnog cookies! (But no one is keeping you from dunking it in spiked cider…)

I wanted a cookie that had a distinct holiday flavor that wasn’t traditional gingerbread. Or peppermint. ‘Lo and behold the rich flavor of eggnog.

Overall I thought these cookies maintained the bold flavor of eggnog, but I thought they were just too.darn.sweet. I didn’t put the glaze on them because I worried folks would go into a sugar coma. I suggest, if you make these, to reduce the sugar by 1/2 c. and then do the glaze as described. Your friends and family will thank you for it 😉

Eggnog Cookies
Printable version here!

Ingredients:

Cookies:

  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened (very important it is pliable and at room temperature!)
  • 1/2 cup eggnog
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Eggnog Glaze:

  • 1 ½ cup powdered sugar
  • 3 tablespoons eggnog

1. Preheat oven to 300°F (150°C)

2. Combine flour, baking powder, cinnamon and nutmeg.

3. Cream sugar and butter until light.

4. Add eggnog, vanilla, and egg yolks; beat at medium speed with mixer until smooth. Smoothness will be achieved when you let your butter come to room temperature. I, sadly, did not!

5. Add flour mixture and beat at low speed until just combined.

6. Do not over mix

7. Spoon onto un-greased cookie sheets or parchment paper and make the dough balls rather small, they will spread generously in the oven. (I think they spread a bit, but not “generously” ;p)

8. Sprinkle lightly with nutmeg. (I did not do this, as I felt that the 1 tsp. I put in the batter was enough!)

9. Bake 15 to 18 minutes or until the edges barely start to brown.

10.  While cookies are in the oven, make the eggnog glaze by whisking together the powdered sugar with 3 T eggnog.

11.  Gaze your cookies warm or cooled and top with cinnamon. (Again, I skipped this part, but you could do it!)

 

