Day 3 hath arrived! And with it, a savory sweet cookie that has been, so far, referred to as an appetizer cookie 😉

I’ll admit I was in a slight tizzy last night. No dinner started, tired, sick husband, and I had the brilliant idea to start dinner for tomorrow in Eunice-the-Crockpot (More on this at a later date). And I still had to bake.

And I’ll also admit that I thought about not baking anything and just saying I failed the challenge. THREE DAYS IN. But I just sucked it up, said I wasn’t in a rush to go/do anything that night. I started the broccoli cheddar soup on the stove (it was pretty tasty! Though DH said it needed more than 3 cups of cheese….). I chopped 5 lb. of russet potatoes for the soup while the butter was “softening”. <—my worst problem to date. Having enough patience and time to let the butter soften enough!

I threw all the initial ingredients into Eunice to cook and let her do her thing.

Then I tackled the cookies (and did the dishes after… I love cleaning as you go. Wish I did it more often!).

The cookies are flavorful. They taste good. Remind me of corn bread actually. But DO NOT USE POLENTA. Make sure to have enough cornmeal on hand. I didn’t realize I had run out, so my cookies ended a tad gritty 😦

Be sure to read all the notes throughout, because this recipe was one where a slight few things could have been tweaked to make them go from “not bad” to “AMAZING IDEA!”


Cornmeal Thyme Cookies
Get the printable version here!

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup stone-ground yellow cornmeal
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 8 ounces (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped thyme (dried or fresh)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees, with racks in upper and lower thirds. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper (or wax paper); set aside.

Whisk together flour, baking soda, cornmeal, and salt in a medium bowl and set aside.

Put butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment; cream on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes.

Mix in eggs, 1 at a time. Make sure to scrape down sides at regular intervals.

Add flour mixture; mix on low speed until just combined. Fold in Thyme until evenly distributed.

Using a tablespoon or a 1 1/2-inch ice-cream scoop, drop rounded balls of dough onto lined sheets, spacing them 2 inches apart. ßVery important. These cookies tend to spread out as they bake. I’ve added ¼ c. more flour, so this should help firm them up a bit. Just beware! Your cookies will touch if they’re not given enough room.

(All of these cookies touched. So I ended up moving the next few batches onto more cookie sheets. Those came out fine.)

Bake, rotating and switching positions of sheets about halfway through, until pale golden, 10 to 12 minutes. Transfer cookies, on parchment, to a wire rack. Let cool completely. Cookies are done when they are lightly browned on edges.

 

(Example of touching cookies!)

