*rubs eye balls*

I fell asleep on the couch.

It happens to the best of us. Especially when all these recipes are made the day before they are posted. I had a work thing to attend last night and there was wine. After one glass I was the life of the party and telling jokes like no other (really, I’ve a very vibrant personality after one glass). After two, I was getting sleepy and irritable.

So I went home, grumped myself up a bit, and took a nap.

Then it suddenly turned 9 p.m. and I didn’t want to do anything hard. Meaning: not a lot of ingredients.

I had a Red Velvet fudge recipe on hand for such an occasion. I was going to make buckeyes last night, because those are SUPER easy. But then… I didn’t have bittersweet chocolate chips. Only milk chocolate. And that would make them WAY TOO SWEET. Life is hard.

So here I am. It’s 11 p.m. and there’s “fudge” setting in my fridge.

Day six hath arrived and Santa is either getting fudge, or reallllly delish chocolate syrup. Which do you want to bet your money on?

(I wrote the first half this morning…and guess what? If you voted for the chocolate syrup, you’d be right!)

I checked on the fudge this morning, and one had sort of set. The other? Was just a thick syrup. I stuck my finger in them to test, and obviously had to lick my fingers off to clean them.

O.M.G. BEST CHOCOLATE SYRUP IN THE WORLD.

Now, as I’ve found out, this would make an excellent ganache, fantastic syrup, or superb sauce to dip cherries/strawberries/cookies, etc. Please do not try this recipe for the “fudge”, but rather for the OMGDELICIOUSSYRUP aspect of it. That’s the only reason why I’m posting this to you. Sometimes horrible recipes turn out good in the end 😉

Red Velvet Ganache/Syrup
Get printable version here!

Makes 1 bowl perfect for dipping, or enough to spoon over many ice cream dishes, or enough to ganache one mid-sized cake.

Ingredients:

  • 1-2 cups sugar (depending on desired sweetness, 2 will produce a thicker result)
  • Âź cup cocoa
  • ½ cup buttermilk
  • ½ cup sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 teaspoon red food coloring (or green, but it doesn’t do a whole lot)
  • 3 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla paired with 1 tsp lemon extracts, or 1 tsp peppermint extract (these are just what I used…I made two batches. And omg lemon and vanilla is TO DIE FOR).

Directions:

  • Combine sugar, cocoa, buttermilk, sweetened condensed milk, and food coloring in a nonstick pot. I used a small-to-midsized pot. Stir to combine. Bring the mixture to a boil, stirring constantly, but do not scrape down the sides (this should help you avoid getting crystallized sugar in the fudge)

  • Let mixture boil for a few minutes, while still stirring constantly (5 minutes is ideal, but you don’t want to burn the sugar and cocoa!). Reduce heat and allow fudge-y syrup to simmer. Again for about 5 minutes. Turn off heat and let mixture cool to a more manageable heat (should be fairly warm to the touch). Transfer to bowl and mix butter with extract flavor(s).
  • Beat by hand or use electric mixer until fudge loses its sheen or your arm feels like it will fall off (the latter came first for me)

  • Place the mixture in fridge to make mixture thicken up (about 20-30 minutes will do it).
  • Use this mixture to dip cookies, chocolates, as ganache over cake, atop ice cream, or pretty much anywhere you think a fantastic chocolate syrup is needed. (If the fudge-y syrup stuff gets TOO thick in the fridge, you can heat it up on low until it gets to the desired thickness. Microwave or stovetop works)

(I used the wax paper because I was under the assumption it would firm up well. But alas, it didn’t. If you read the directions for the actual fudge recipe, it doesn’t say how long to simmer, or how long to boil. OR what to do after you’ve done certain steps. It was so vague I wanted to give the baker some choice words. But my loss is definitely your gain here. This stuff is so tasty 😀 I’ll use it in a recipe I’m making tonight! Stay tuned for tomorrow’s post!)

