Day seven hath arrived (really? already?) and with it: SHORTBREAD.

Ya’ll. I’ve never made shortbread before. And aside from the cookies sold in the air-tight packages at the grocery store, I’ve never had fresh shortbread before.

I think I’ve died and gone to heaven. (I also made a Lavender Honey variety, which you can find right here!)

I made two batches of shortbread last night. I wanted to use part of the fudge that went syrupy *yum* but DH has some coworkers at his work allergic to cocoa. So I obviously had to make a variety where I wouldn’t dip it in chocolate. And this is quickly turning into the reason why it took me 3 hours in my kitchen last night to work with two varieties of this stuff.

It’s so good. Please treat someone to this for Christmas!

(One variety, the plain. With holes. For air and deliciousness sake.)

Traditional Shortbread
Get printable version here!

 Ingredients:

  • 1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks)
  • ¾ cup confectioner’s sugar, sifted
  • 2 cups flour, sifted
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Directions:

Grease pan (either round or square. 8×8” is great, or 9” round). Set aside.
In bowl of electric mixer fitted with paddle attachment, cream together butter and powdered sugar. Scrape down sides with rubber spatula to incorporate all the sugary goodness into recipe.

With mixer on low speed, slowly add flour. Turn off mixer and finish incorporating dough by hand with spatula. Do not over mix.


Evenly spread dough into prepared pan.

(This is how thick the dough ends up being! I rolled it into a more manageable shape with wax paper)

Poke holes throughout with either fork, wooden skewer, or fondue tongs (whatever works!). Just go for it. You can’t have too many or too little holes! Precut cookies with knife.
Put dough in fridge for 20 minutes to 2 hours (I had this in the fridge for 30 and it came out amazing. Flavors develop more the longer you keep it in fridge).

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Bake until light brought, about 50-60 minutes. The edges will be slightly darker, middle will be firm to touch.  Once it begins to cool (20 minutes out of the oven), recut with knife. This makes it easier to get the cookies out of the pan.


Let cool completely before removing cookies from pan.
Eat.

*For a fun variation: Take cooled shortbread and dip in chocolate. Then sprinkle with crushed candy canes or sprinkles. THEN enjoy.

**Or, if you want a little flavor kick, try my Honey lavender shortbread from this recipe right here 🙂

