I am somewhat of a kick ass reader. I honestly LOVE to read and I think I am pretty darn good at it. 😉

I think this is a result of a few things…namely:

  • My mom (and dad) read. A lot. I have memories of them reading in bed, on the weekends, outside, or on the couch.
  • My mom would say no to buying certain toys, but she’d never say no to ordering me books from the Scholastic catalogs.
  • My grandmother read to me an awful lot after school if I was bored (And what better place to read than Grandma’s lap?).

I get through pages rather quickly, as I can glance at words and understand their meaning, rather than devote time to looking directly at every word and piecing together the meaning. Depending on how intricate the sentence structure, a page takes me seconds to read (this is especially fun when reading on the Kindle. Since the screen is so small, I can click the ‘Next’ button a lot! I sure do like that sound…). Though, I’ve found that if it’s a particularly dry book, article, whatever, it can take ages to finish. I often have to re-read parts to make sure I got all the meanings. 😉 For instance, Machiavelli’s The Prince makes me want to chew on bricks. I.can’t.do.it. But I digress….

Last year, due to some encouragement and inspiration from blogging friends, I decided to keep track of how many books I read. I started 49, and finished 46. Two of them I couldn’t finish (but had read before). One of them I started (as in, opened the cover), but set down.

I was hoping to get to 50 books last year, but I’m now wondering: Does it really matter?  Should I be looking at how many pages I read instead? I got through 5 of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time books. Each one is over 1,000 pages–and, with some of the books I’ve read, equals the same as 5 average-sized books.

I’m trying not to be hard on myself. I’m telling myself over and over again that, “Hey! It’s 46 books! That’s better than none! Or even 1! Why the need to be an overachiever, eh?”

I had a guy friend ask me, long ago, what the last book I read was. I told him I was in the middle of a few books, but listed off a handful anyway. He was impressed. He said the last girl he dated couldn’t tell him what the last book she read was, and had no interest whatsoever in picking up another book. I stared, wide-eyed and slack-jawed. Books are AMAZING. And while I don’t turn up my nose at digital vs. paper books, I think it’s important that we all read SOMETHING.

So why am I beating myself up over pages vs. books? I guess it still would have been cool to tell someone that I read that many 😉 But really I wanted to track how many I read because I had honestly zero idea how many I got through. And this girl? Is apparently disappointed by the number.

What’s the last book you read? Was it digital or paperback? How many did you read last year? (Does it matter to you?)

