Ever since I started losing weight and have promoted my own success through the Weight Watchers program, I’ve had a lot of people come up to me and say, “Are you sure you can have that?” Better even is the ghastly, “Are you SURE you want to eat that?”

I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve told my hubs that if he sees me consuming an entire box of cereal (the frosted mini wheats are a no-no in my house now), or a whole bag of chips, or the entire chocolate cake, that he can step in and politely suggest I alter my habits right then and there. This is my hubs, folks. The person who I’m now legally tied to, and can legally bitch a fit about him dampering my style….and still have him love me regardless 😉

One day, whilst I was working at the shoe store, a manager brought in some donuts from a local shop. He cut one donut into 5 or 6 pieces and then offered them to coworkers–just not to me. He knew about my weight loss, and even complimented me on how thin I was looking. Since I was a coworker too, I grabbed a tiny piece of donut for myself. Before I could get it to my mouth, he turned to me and said, “Are you sure you can have that?”

Nope! Sure can’t! Thank you for saving me from almost dying of sugar shock! My life would have been SERIOUSLY altered if I had eaten just this small piece! SUGAR=POISON.

Now, obviously that is not true. But just because I’m devoted to a healthy lifestyle doesn’t mean I can’t indulge every now and then. Sure, some people have a trigger that is bad news bears for them. Some folks can’t indulge at ALL or they’ll eat the entire box. Cravings can get the better of you. I know this for a fact. I respect the fact that they say no to being offered something. Or when they say, “Oh, the smell is just enough for me!” Because really…haven’t ya’ll been in a bakery and just breathed in and been fulfilled by just the AROMA of warm bread, and sweet breaded delights? (FYI: You are lying to yourself if you say no…).

Everything and anything can be eaten in moderation. And I’m still learning moderation. There are days when I can’t handle just eating one cookie. So I eat three (or ten) instead. Days when I know I indulged already that week, but have to have ONE.MORE.SNACK. It happens. And I allow myself to have that happen.

But so help me… if people come up to me, and start taking away food, or hiding food, or think they’re doing me a favor by having a carb intervention because WEIGHT WATCHERS SAYS NO! I will whip out an emergency Twinkie and eat it right then and there in one big bite right in front of them.

Oh delicious, sweet, tasty revenge. And I may, or may not, have a stash of emergency sweets. Maybe I just bought these…. MAYBE.

(In all honesty, thank you for looking out for me.  Unless you are SERIOUSLY concerned by my sweets habit, just know that all people are different and are probably already battling their own inner demons about that 1/18th of a cookie they just ate. They are their own worst enemy and they know it!)

Have you had this happen before? What’d you do to ease off the naysayers and sugar haters in your life?

