Well. The good news is that, as of right now, I have no food waste. But I’ve got a veryyyyyyy ripe cantaloupe sitting in the back of my fridge that I’ve been avoiding. When I bought it (almost two weeks ago) I didn’t realize that it was very ripe at that point! And when I cracked open another that I had bought, the sweetness was almost a sickly sweet. So I’ve been avoiding this one. Now it has dimples in it that aren’t from smiling. *doh* So I’m not calling it food waste just yet, because it’s possible when I open it up it tastes amazing. I plan on taking a look at it tonight!

And since this post was so freaking boring (I mean..there wasn’t ANY moldy food in it!), I thought I would review a non-traditional recipe for you, Canh Bau Tom.

It’s soup! Vietnamese soup that makes use of the opo squash, also known as calabash. This soup is a little on the heartier side despite the clear broth, so I wouldn’t suggest it for a very warm summer day!

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 1 large opo squash , Peeled and sliced thinly
  • 6 cups water
  • ½ cup onion , thinly sliced (I used closer to 1 c.)
  • ½-1 lb shrimp , peeled and diced (I used a combination of paneer and butter beans since I had them on hand)
  • 4 -6 green onions , diced
  • ¼-½ cup cilantro , coarsely chopped
  • 1 -2 teaspoon white pepper , can use black (I used black)
  • 2 -3 tablespoons fish sauce 
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil

Directions (there’s more technical ones on the website page, but I don’t think doing it that way is necessary!):

  • Pour the water into a large stock pan.
  • Add the Opo Squash and cook over medium-high heat until the squash becomes soft and translucent. The squash may not become translucent if it’s cut too thick. Just look for it to soften up. About 10 minutes.
  • Throw in onions to cook. Once they’re partially cooked (5 minutes), add shrimp, green onions, cilantro.
  • Season the mixture with the pepper, fish sauce, sugar, and sesame oil. Mix well. Cook 10 minutes or until all veggies are cooked.
  • Garnish with any additional cilantro and green onions.
  • Let the soup stand for 15 minutes before serving.
  • Serve over rice and/or Kho recipes (stews). I served it with homemade bread! (Oyster crackers would be amazing).

There you have it! Tasty! And I used up the opo squash that I had in my fridge 🙂

Have you ever cooked with this veggie? Any good recipes?

FoodWasteFriday

