This has got to be one of our favorite meals that DH and I make. Every other week curry shows up on the menu, and the possibilities for what go in it are endless. I wanted to share my forever-changing recipe with you because we love eating it THAT much.

Weight Watchers Points:

Serves 4 generously (how we ate it at least!)

Shrimp: 8 pt.
Veggies: 0 pt.
1.5 cups cream: 12 pt.
Olive oil: 4 pt.
Garlic: 0 pt.
Spices: 0 pt.

Total:  6 pt. per serving

With couscous (1/2 cup Israeli couscous):  11 pt.
(Just calculate the points for whatever carbs you used!)

Ingredients: 

1 lb. shrimp (works equally well with any other meat or tofu)
Varying amounts of chopped veggies (We used mini bell peppers, onion, mushroom, tomato)
1 can coconut milk or 1.5 cups cream
1-2 tablespoons olive oil
2 teaspoons minced garlic, or 3 garlic cloves chopped
2 tablespoons curry
2-3 teaspoons paprika
Salt and pepper to taste
Cornstarch (as needed to thicken)
Couscous, rice, pasta or cubed, roasted potatoes to toss the curry onto

 Directions:
In a mid-sized pot or large frying pan with deep lips, drizzle about 1 tbsp olive oil. Let heat before tossing in onions (Amounts vary on veggies. I used 4 small onions here because onions are delicious).

I put the foods in the pan in order of how long it takes to cook each. When the onion is just starting to get going, I throw in the chopped mini peppers. Eggplant, squash, broccoli, peas, would also go well in this recipe. I used 6-7 mini peppers.

And then toss in some chopped tomatoes, as they’re squishy and cook fast. I used two full-size tomatoes. Sprinkle generously with salt.

I added a handful of sliced mushrooms and then stirred the pot a bit. I also opened a jar of minced garlic, took 1.5 teaspoons worth and threw it in. Then realized…

That I had four containers of garlic in my fridge. The fifth? I was reusing the container for homemade pickle slices. Two jars were full. Two were ridiculously empty. I have issues.

So when it came time to throw the cream in, I just swirled some of the cream in each of the two jars to get all that garlicky goodness out. ‘Tis a crime to waste good garlic, you know. I used 1 full garlic jar worth of cream (good measurement right? It says 8 oz. on it, so I’m assuming that’s roughly 1 cup!). And then threw in a bit extra. Totaling about 1.5 cups of half and half.

At this point, I put the stove on the lowest setting, covered it, and let all the flavors mingle with one another. I wanted to get to cleaning, de-veining and taking off the shells of the shrimp I bought. I prefer to do all this myself, as the price of fresh shrimp? Can’t be beat when you do it this way! I stirred the pot with veggies after every 5 shrimp.

Once the cream was all mingled with the veggies, I gave it a final stir…

….Then tossed in all the shrimps. Mmmm. Trust me. At this point, the kitchen smelled DIVINE. I’d be surprised if the neighbors next door weren’t drooling as well!

Since the shrimp only needed to be in there for a few minutes, I added the spices that would bring the dish together. 1-2 table spoons worth of curry (I used a ye;llow sweet curry), 2-3 teaspoons worth of paprika (I used Hungarian sweet paprika), and a sprinkle or two of freshly cracked black pepper. Look at those colors! (Please note: That if you use a different protein, you’ll likely need to adjust the cooking time of the meat. I’d suggest either cooking pork, chicken, beef, or fish ahead of time, then adding it in to simmer with the cream. Another option would be to cook it partially, then add onions, and cook the meat throughout the dish. It will add a distinct flavor to the pot!)

Give it a good stir. The juices should be slightly bubbling. The shrimp were already starting too cook! Then cover, turn off the burner, and let sit for 5-7 minutes, stirring once or twice.

Since I prefer my curries a smidge thicker, I wanted to add a thickening agent. My preference is corn starch, but you could always use half of a pureed sweet potato, some flour, or rice (then it’d be more of a curry jambalaya!).  I dunked a heat-resistant measuring cup into the liquid, and then mixed a few teaspoons worth of corn starch in it. This is key! If you sprinkle the corn starch directly into the pot, you’re likely to get lumps of corn starch that won’t be incorporated well when you stir.

I poored the cornstarch mixture in slowly, stirring the pot the entire time. It thickened within minutes.

Mmmmm. I made couscous in a separate pot. Spooned some onto a plate, put the curry on top. And dug in!


