I learned through a number of blogs this week (as I tend to browse the blogosphere in my spare time), that as of this Sunday, September 23, 2012, there will be exactly 100 days left in the year.

Something about that number–100–speaks to me. It’s exactly the value of $1.00 USD. It’s a century. It’s the number kids learn to count down from. It’s the boiling point of water in Celcius. It’s the academic grading scale in the US. It’s even. Round. And perfect.

And I’m committing to make use of it.

You see, I’ve been out of sorts lately. I feel like I’m in some sort of life-living rut. My days and weekends are fairly similar in that I wake up, go to work, come home, eat dinner, and go to bed. Rinse. Repeat x5. The weekends offer some variability, but I’m often too worried and stressed about picking up the apartment, doing laundry, baking, running errands, and then trying to find SOME time for fun, that I get incredibly worn out. And lazy.

I hate to resolve myself to, “But this is all life is.” THAT kind of mentality is what got me in this rut in the first place. And my realization is that life can be as much as you make it. And I’m trying to make it more.

DH and I want to make some changes in the next few years. We have a tad less than 4 years until the big 3-0, and if our current routine keeps on until then? We won’t have had much planning or prep for our “big wishes” to be set in place. And we figure if we make a few changes now, we might have a snowball effect on our hands… and thus ready to make more changes later on.

Here’s a few things we agreed we want to have “teed up” for our big 3-0 (we conveniently celebrate our birthdays a mere 4 weeks apart):

  • Be debt-free.
  • Have built-out savings accounts for Emergency Savings; New Car; House.
  • Get a better feel for when/if we’d like to start a family.
  • Know where we’d like to relocate.
  • Be happier.

Obviously, that first one will take a good bit of patience and persistence: between DH and I, we’ve probably got $100k worth of student loan debt. But the sooner we pay it off, and commit to making additional payments, the more money we’ll be able to save in the long run. My interest rates are at a killer 8.6%.

Anyway, back to the proposed challenge at hand. 100 days to end 2012 with a bang and hopefully learn more about what the two of us are capable of. We know change needs to start with us, and we’ve both agreed that something needs to spur this change. I suggested to DH, late last night, that 100 days seems like the perfect amount of time for this challenge. A month would almost be too short–where’s the challenge if just as you’re getting into it, it ends? But anything longer than 3 months might seem impossible and too far away to achieve. 100 days is, again, Even. Round. And Perfect.

As of Sunday, September 23, 2012, we’ll look forward to concentrating on what means the most to us, and tackling projects that we’ve avoided until thus far in our lives.

To give you a feel of what I’m thinking, here’s a list of my own challenge hopes (while I’ll be chronicling this challenge, DH won’t. But he’ll be participating!):

  1. Make use of our gym membership. Knowing that going is better than not.
  2. Declutter the house. Material things shouldn’t rule our lives.
  3. Try new recipes. Don’t limit the palate just because we’re tired.
  4. Make more. Reduce pre-packaged buys as much as possible.
  5. Enjoy the weather/outdoors. We have sleds and skates to use!
  6. Embrace family. In 4 years, who knows where we might be living?
  7. Eat healthier. More greens, less processed foods.
  8. Embrace pescatarianism. I don’t much like meat. Why not embrace fish?
  9. Get back to sewing. I’ve got two quilts in mind already!
  10. Recommit to 135 lb. It was a far-off goal at one point; now it’s not!
  11. Be less critical. Think the best of someone straightaway.
  12. Learn to can. And then fill the pantry for when the pocketbook is lean.
  13. Be less lazy. If something can be done in less than 5 minutes, do it then.
  14. Spend more time on marriage. It takes work; so I want to work on it.
  15. Finish household projects. I’ve got a list brewin’.
  16. Create a budget and savings plan. Then stick to it.
  17. Teach someone who is willing to learn. And have fun about it.
  18. Visit with more friends. And work on making those friendships last.
  19. Be more patient, and try not to get upset. Especially for DH.
  20. Take time to have fun. And include making time for myself.

I’m not quite sure how chronicling this will go, but I do hope to have nicer pictures to accompany many posts, a detailed description of what I want to think about, how I went about doing things, and how I feel.

I’m hoping the Un-Resolution Challenge will help me to realize change can happen at any point in the year as long as I MAKE it happen.

Are you excited? Good. *claps hands* Session over! See you Sunday!

