Seriously one of the easiest recipes to make–BUT–it has some quirky ingredients. I wouldn’t be making it if my mom (Bless her heart) hadn’t ordered me the potato flour and surprised me with it. <—Apparently I am highly amused at such routine and mundane items! 😉

I’m tellin’ you folks… I was destined to become a 1950s housewife. Minus all the cigarette smoke.

Pain de Mie (From King Arthur Flour)

You can find the full recipe here.

Ingredients:

2/3 cup (5 3/8 ounces) milk
1 cup (8 ounces) water
6 tablespoons (3 ounces) butter
2 1/4 teaspoons salt
3 tablespoons (1 1/4 ounces) sugar
1/4 cup (1 1/8 ounces) nonfat dry milk
3 tablespoons (1 1/4 ounces) potato flour
4 3/4 cups (20 ounces) All-Purpose Flour
2 teaspoons instant yeast

Directions:

In a large bowl, combine the milk, water, butter, salt and sugar. Add the dried milk, flours and yeast, stirring till the dough starts to leave the sides of the bowl. Transfer the dough to a lightly greased surface, oil your hands, and knead it for 5 to 8 minutes, or until it’s smooth and supple.

Dried milk

Potato flour

Transfer the dough to a lightly greased bowl or dough-rising bucket, cover the bowl or bucket, and allow the dough to rise till puffy though not necessarily doubled in bulk, about 1 1/2 hours, depending on the warmth of your kitchen.

